Steven Anderson ’94

Development Committee

I am an orthopedic surgeon at AppOrtho, a member of Appalachian Regional Medical Associates. I work primarily at Watauga Regional Medical Center and live in Blowing Rock, NC.

I am board certified by the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and have more than 20 years of experience in bone and joint surgery. While I initially enjoyed general orthopedics, my practice now focuses on hip, knee and shoulder surgery. I am particularly interested in primary and revision (or redo) joint replacement and now perform over 1000 joint replacement procedures annually. I enjoy bringing new technology to my practice and patients and have become skilled in robotic joint replacement. In order to care for my high volume of patients (almost 1500 surgery’s per year), I, of course, have become an expert in the surgeries I perform. In order to maintain a high level of quality and manage my own work-life balance, I’ve also become an expert in personal and operational efficiency, team building, time management, and stress management. I view these skills as my most valuable and unique and are integral to my ability to care for a volume of patients most surgeons cannot. I grew up in Cary, North Carolina and I am a graduate of The North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics in Durham (Class of 1994). I completed an undergraduate degree in Biochemistry at Duke University and earned my medical degree from Wake Forest University School of Medicine. From there, I completed my residency training at Duke University Medical Center. While at Duke, I had a broad training experience but my training was particularly focused on joint replacement, arthroscopic surgery, hand surgery, and trauma surgery.

When not at work, I enjoy spending time with my wife, Erin, and our three daughters. Anna Grace is current NCSSM student in Morganton and we are delighted she has been able to be part of the first class. Lilly is a rising high school freshman and enjoys reading, 3D printing, and tennis. She dreams of attending NCSSM herself one day. Claire, her twin sister, is also a rising freshman and enjoys dance, dance, and more dance. She has her sights set on attending the NC School of the Arts. We are a tight family who enjoy one another’s company and enjoy supporting each other’s endeavors. We love spending time together whether it be at a dance competition, tennis tournament, or traveling in our Airstream camper. I particularly enjoy boating, water sports such as wake surfing, hiking and running.

I’m excited to be part of this Board and hope my involvement and talents can be of benefit to the school and the students it serves.

Foundation Board of Directors

Maya K. Ajmera ’85

Audit Committee, Campaign Steering Committee Honorary Co-Chair

Dianne C. Bailey

Secretary of the Foundation, Development Committee, Executive Committee

David Bennett

Governance Committee

Taylor Brockman ’99

Chair of the Foundation, Executive and Development Committees

Joanne Chen ’03

Finance Committee

Adrienne Clough

Finance Committee

Han Feung ’91

Finance Committee

Zack Fowler ’12

Development Committee

Louis Gordon ’83

Finance Committee

Kim Gragg ’88

Finance Committee

Akhil Jariwala ’10

Development Committee

Anastasia “Ana” Kornegay ’94

Development Committee

Gina Loften ’83

Vice-Chair of the Foundation, Executive Committee

Katherine Manuel

Treasurer of the Foundation, Executive and Finance Committees

Emily Martine ’88

Parent Association Chair, Ex Officio, Development Committee

Grant Means ’12

Finance Committee

Mary U. Musacchia

Governance Committee

Scott Ogle ’93

Development Committee, Campaign Steering Committee Co-Chair

Chris Paul ’01

Development Committee

Rohan Paul

Chair, Development Committee, Executive Committee

LeShawndra Price ’91

Development Committee

Karen Reid ’88

Chair, Audit Committee, Executive Committee

Mary Roederer ’94

Alumni Board President, Ex Officio, Development Committee

Michelle Solér

Development Committee

Charles “Rick” Stone, III

Chair Emeritus Non-voting, Governance Committee

Charlie Stone ’03

Chair, Governance Committee, Executive Committee

Jeff Tang ’05

Chair, Finance Committee, Executive Committee