NCSSM Online honors 156 talented seniors

This year’s winners of the Golden Catalyst award: Tesia Bobrowski, Fariha Rahman, Daniel Soos, and Rebecca Nelson.

NCSSM’s 8th Online Program Recognition Ceremony was held on Sunday, June 4, and celebrated the 156 students completing NCSSM Online in the Class of 2017. These talented, motivated students from across the state of North Carolina chose to complete online courses in advanced STEM and liberal arts subjects over the last two years, while also completing their regular curriculum at their home high schools.

This year’s class of graduating seniors hail from 57 counties across the state of North Carolina, as evidenced by the colorful regalia, representing the students’ home high schools, worn during the ceremony. Around 110 members of the senior class received honors certificates of completion or concentrations in academic topics ranging from Applied STEM and Computational Science to Liberal Studies and Global Studies.

The auditorium was nearly filled with both the recognized students as well as friends and family to watch the ceremony. Remarks were given by NCSSM Chancellor Todd Roberts, as well as student speakers Rebecca Nelson and Daniel Soos, who were selected to address their peers.

Watch the event on Livestream

Both Nelson and Soos were also winner’s of this year’s Golden Catalyst Award, also recognized during the ceremony. The four winners of the Golden Catalyst Award were selected on the basis of their exceptional personal academic growth and performance, significant contributions to the NCSSM community, and outstanding use of NCSSM’s programs to lead in the local and state community.

This year’s winners were:

The first ever Panoff Award for Excellence in Computational Science was also given this year. This award recognizes one student for their contribution and future potential in the field of computational sciences. This year’s award winner was Tesia Bobrowski from Woods Charter School.

View all student names in the event program

The Class of 2017 was the 7th class to complete NCSSM Online. The first cohort of students entered the program in 2008, graduating from the two-year program in 2010.

Read more about NCSSM Online

Share this post.